Our Governance

​​​​​​Brisbane Catholic Education​

Siena is an Archdiocesan College administered by Brisbane Catholic Education on behalf of the Archdiocese of Brisbane.  The Archdiocese is both the canonical and civil owner of the school site which was purchased with funds allocated for educational purposes.

The Principal is appointed by the Executive Director of Brisbane Catholic Education and is employed on a contractual basis to manage and administer the College under broad policy guidelines issued by the Director of Brisbane Catholic Education and the Siena Schools’ Board.​

The Executive Director makes policies concerned generally with the educational administration of the school, eg. enrolment, hiring of staff, class size, termination of enrolment, discipline and curriculum direction.  The Executive Director authorises the Principal to employ staff.

The Principal oversees the finances of the College and works in consultation with Brisbane Catholic Education and the Siena Schools’ Board in decisions regarding capital works and school fees.

Siena staff are employed by the Corporation of the Trustees of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Brisbane on both full-time teaching and part-time/contract agreements.  The College has entered into a portability agreement with other Diocesan systems and some Religious Institute schools for retirement and superannuation schemes. ​​

​​​Siena Schools' Board

​​This Board encompasses both the College and Siena Primary and is part of the governance structure of the schools and as such supports the Principals and Staff of the schools as they undertake the processes involved in the education of students at the schools.

The Board’s responsibilities extend to pastoral/advisory planning and decision making in areas such as of policy making, provision and maintenance of school buildings and equipment, budgeting, communication and curriculum. The Board ensures that the Archdiocesan policies are implemented and that school policies are consistent with these policies.

The Board is not responsible for the internal administration of the Schools, but offers a pastoral sounding board to the Administration and Leadership Team. 

The Board convenes six (6) times per year to provide support to both the College and Primary Principals. The current membership as follows:

​Ex-officio Members

​Spiritual Leader - ​Fr Peter Brannelly, Parish Priest, Stella Maris Parish
​College Principal - ​Ms Sharon Collins​
​Primary Principal - ​Mr Glen Bucklar

​Elected Members ​

​Chair​ - Matt Byrne
​Parents - Phillippa Bess (Secretary), Michael Staskiewicz, John Cranley, Kate Manttan, Debi Marr, Garth Smith
​​College Staff - ​Justine Stewart​
Primary Staff - Emily Tredrea

​The Board’s “term of office” is for three years, after which some members will step down but others remain for a further three year term to ensure continuity. No elected member can serve on the Board for more than two consecutive terms.

To be eligible for consideration for membership of the Board, prospective members must take part in an educative process to ensure they understand the concept of the pastoral nature of the Board. These are held in the year of the Board “change over”.​